Never abandon your vision. Keep reaching
to further your dreams.

Benjamin Banneker

WIC's Educational Subsidiary


Dr. Phillip Emeagwali Chairman of the Board

Dr. Patrick Wilson Acting President


In January of 2004, the Washington Interdependence Council established the Benjamin Banneker Institute of Math & Science as a subsidiary of its non-profit civic organization to promote the advancement of math, science and engineering as academic and professional pursuits amongst disadvantaged populations in particular. In today’s technologically oriented culture, it is imperative that youth are exposed to the broad array of prospective career opportunities requiring a mastery of technological disciplines early on in their primary educational development. It is the goal of the Institute to provide remedial address to these STEM issues.

Association for Computing Machinery: Who is your hero or the person you admire the most, and why?


Dr. Philip Emeagwali: There are several people that I admire for different reasons. I admire the colonial era African-American inventor Benjamin Banneker for his courage in challenging Thomas Jefferson on his views that blacks will not be capable of understanding what we now call high school geometry.

The Benjamin Banneker Institute of Math and Science [BBIMS] is pleased to announce that Dr. Philip Emeagwali has agreed to serve as Chair of the Institute. An internationally renowned computer scientist and civil engineer, Dr. Emeagwali was hailed as the Father of the Internet by President Bill Clinton et al. After many years of intensive field work in computer technology, he created the mathematical formula, using 65,000 computer processors, to enable the supercomputer to calculate at a rate of 3.1 billion calculations per second. His ingenius break through formula spawned the advent of the supercomputer, and birth of the Internet . He is also a trailblazer in petroleum extraction and weather forecasting technology. The recipient of an inexhausive number of prestigeous awards and accolades, chief among them are the Gordon Bell Award , the Nobel Prize of electronic engineering; the Computer Scientist of the Year Award; Marquis' Who's Who of the 20th Century; and the World's Most Searched for Scientist. Dr. Emeagwali is committed to contributing to the preparation of future trailblazing STEM leaders and lectures on this subject globally.


Noted biochemist, Dr. Patrick Wilson, recently accepted the post as Acting President of BBIMS. Dr. Wilson also currently serves as Associate Director in the Off. of Int'l Programs for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration . His is primarily responsible for overseeing the regions of Africa, Europe and the Eastern Mediterrranean. He is Chair of the Assn. of Official Analytical Chemists; listed in Marquis' Who's Who in Science & Engineering; and is the recipient of numerous awards and recognitions. Dr. Wilson will assume the post of President upon his retirement from the FDA, and brings on board with him an international network of leaders as BBIMS Ambassadors. Keeping America in the forefront of technology, he says, is a priority.


Dr. Gabriel A. Oyibo, a three time Nobel Prize nominee in physics, accepted an appointment as the esteemed Chair of the Executive Advisory Board of BBIMS. Dr. Oyibo is internationally recognized for his revolutionary discovery of the Grand Unified Theorem which defies conventional belief that there are 118 elements. His hypothesis challenges that popularly accepted theory by proposing that there is only one element, hydrogen, and that the other 117components are, in actuality, compounds. He asserts that hydrogen is the building block of all life. Dr. Oyibo has a Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Mathematics from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.


There are many scientists hailing from the African-American community who are proving to be the heir apparent of colonial American hero, Benjamin Banneker. These great minds are making trailblazing strides in the scientific community. Persons such as WIC Executive Advisory Board Member, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, an acclaimed astrophysicist who currently serves as the first Frederick P. Rose Director of the Hayden Planetarium in NYC. He earned an undergraduate degree in Astrophysics from Harvard University; and a Ph.D. in Astrophysics from Columbia University. Among other notables is Anna McGowan, a NASA scientist and leader in morphing technology who leads a team of researchers in developing technology which allows airplane wings to self repair. Her colleague at NASA, Joyce Harrison, is a chemical engineer and pioneer in the area of satellite and robotic technology. Nuclear and mechanical engineer, Lonnie Johnson, a former scientist at NASA , developed thermodynamics for space projects, including the Galileo Jupiter probe and the Mars Observer projects. He later founded Johnson Research & Development Co., and is creator of the Super Soaker Nerf Water Toy and an array of other popular children's toys.



Back To Top


Copyright, Washington Interdependence Council, 2017